2019 Awardee



Life Time Achievement Award Dr. P. K. Joshi

Dr. P.K. Joshi superannuated as the Senior Advisor and Director for South Asia, International Food Policy Research Institute, New Delhi. Previous to this, he held the positions of the Director of the National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Hyderabad, India, and the Director of the National Centre for Agricultural Economics and Policy Research, New Delhi.

His areas of research include technology policy, natural resource management, markets, and institutional economics. He has worked in more than ten countries and extensively travelled to more than 40 countries.

Dr. Joshi has recipient of: Dr. M.S. Randhawa Memorial Award of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (2009-11), and Dr. R.C. Agarwal Life Time Achievement Award of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics (2012-13) for his outstanding contribution in social science and agricultural economics research. He is Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, Indian Society of Agricultural Engineering, and International Society of Noni Research.

Dr Joshi was President-elect of Indian Society of Agricultural Economics (2014); Conference President of Indian Society of Agricultural Marketing (2014), Conference President of Agricultural Economics Research Association-India (2015), and Secretary-General of 4th World Congress on Conservation Agriculture (2009). He is presently the President of the Agricultural Economics Research Association.

Dr. Joshi has also served as the chairman of the SAARC Agricultural Centre's governing board in Dhaka, Bangladesh (2006-08); chairman of the UN-CAPSA governing board in Bogor (2007); and member of the intergovernmental panel on the World Bank's International Assessment of Agricultural Science and Technology for Development (2007-08). He served as a member of the International Steering Committee for the Climate Change, Agriculture, and Food Security Challenge Program, led by the ESSP Science Community and the CGIAR (2009-11). He was also a member of the core group of the Indian government's "Right to Food" National Human Rights Commission.